Forums
Commentary
H&S
About
StoppingPower.net Forums

StoppingPower.net Forums - Archery
StoppingPower.net Forums
StoppingPower.net Forums
Forums Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Invite a friend
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 The Real World
 The Hunting Lodge
 Archery
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

Jim Higginbotham

USA
9431 Posts

Posted - December 06 2017 :  09:57:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We don't talk about that much here. I, myself have not been into archery since I graduated High School or maybe a little later.

Since you could not shoot guns in our neighborhood when I was a child we spent our summers shooting arrows and I got fairly good at shooting a standard recurve 54 lb bow but did not hunt a lot with them. My Ben Pearson bow broke some years back and I do have a compound that shoots OK but I never had a lot of free time so I limited my hunting to modern gun and muzzle loaders.

However in our state, once you turn 65 you can hunt the whole archery season with a crossbow and I now have more free time so I bought one.

I had no idea that crossbows were so expensive but I decided to start out as cheaply as I could and bought a bottom of the line Barnett.

I must say, I am pleasantly surprised! This thing came ready to go with a scope and a couple of arrows (I've been learning and the experts tell me that these modern things that shoot 20" arrows are really "arrows" that properly a "bolt" does not have any fletching - though they are labeled bolts at the store). Me I have no idea who is actually correct.

In any case I found right away, with almost no training, that this critter will put the arrows/bolts into about a 3" group at 40 yards! That is more than adequate for me.