Forums
Commentary
H&S
About
StoppingPower.net Forums

StoppingPower.net Forums - Some Thoughts On The Use Of Deadly Force
StoppingPower.net Forums
StoppingPower.net Forums
Forums Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Invite a friend
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Be Prepared
 Concealed Carry
 Some Thoughts On The Use Of Deadly Force
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Evan
Administrator

34116 Posts

Posted - July 20 2011 :  1:29:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
1st, I'm not an expert on the subject. I knew two coppers in Detroit than were in the double digits on shootings.

I have, however been directly involved in virtually all aspects of a fatal shooting:

1. direct participant

2. CSI

3. Patrol Sgt who was the initial supervisor on the scene of fatal police shooting.

4. Precinct Detective

5. Homicide Sgt

No one I respect is anxious to use deadly force but the folks I respect the most have made the decision to quickly apply overwhelming deadly force when it is appropriate.

We need to sit down and have a hard talk with ourselves about whether or not we could actually shoot some one. I did that over a period of weeks while in the police academy. Good thing as the second night out of the academy I was involved in my 1st shootout. No, I didn't shot anybody that night but I tried really hard.

Too many people beg the question and frankly I consider such behavior immoral in the extreme. If you're a cop and have failed to address the issue you ought to be fired. People will call for help and when an uncommitted cop shows up and dithers about what should be a given.