Forums
Commentary
H&S
About
StoppingPower.net Forums

StoppingPower.net Forums - .32 vs .380 vs .38 vs 9mm
StoppingPower.net Forums
StoppingPower.net Forums
Forums Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Invite a friend
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Stopping Power
 Stopping Power
 .32 vs .380 vs .38 vs 9mm
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

yrusik
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - January 29 2007 :  3:46:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dear Sirs,

While I am a physician and make every effort to stay from harms way, I also live in a world of some level of random crime.

I agree your position that the shooter is 90% and the hardware 10%.

Still, really truly really, how much actual difference is there in the real world performance between the above listed calibers given high performance ammo in each?

I would assume that the .38 Special and the 9mm are equal but how do the little rounds measure up?

Thank you in advance

Chuck
Advanced Member

USA
3251 Posts

Posted - January 29 2007 :  4:24:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I strongly feel that the rounds listed are almost a stair step up the scale, with the .38 and 9mm being very close together, assuming the best loads in each.

The .32 is better than a .22 or .25, that's the best I can say. the .380 is clearly better than the .32, but well below the .38 or 9mm in what I refer to as being able to inflict a reliable wound.

I know of no .32 or .380 ammo that will both expand and penetrate into the 12-15" range. Both of the smaller guns are commonly defeated by large bones.
Go to Top of Page

Evan
Administrator

32197 Posts

Posted - January 29 2007 :  4:38:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
9MM is better than the .38

I only carry a .380 as a 4th handgun-it backs up a .45ACP, .40 S&W, and a 9MM.

"The greatest thing a Father can do for his children is to love their Mother."